November 22, 2014

After Abyss (I.)

Do what thou wilt shall be the whole of the Law

There are important realizations to be integrated into life after the so called crossing of the Abyss (as per Qabalah). And in the present blog I'd like to elaborate upon this rather important subject.

Formless Divinity is what I would call the truly transpersonal stage of awareness. I say stage, not a state. If we look at modern transpersonal psychology, the transpersonal stages are three: the Subtle (Briah), the Causal (Aziluth) and the Nondual (above Aziluth). Anyone can have an insight into any state at any level of her/his current development. States (fleeting insights) are free, stages (permanent attainments) are earned, Ken Wilber says. I agree fully.

And after crossing the Abyss (see this blog >>), the identifications with various God-forms (including Ishta Deva or HGA) are "left behind", so to speak, only to realize permanent identification and spontaneous nature of Being Her (Binah) and, in due time, Him (Chokmah).

There are various levels (not types) of mystical experiences, called samadhi. Samadhi is a Sanskrit word meaning One (sama) with the Absolute (adi).

I experienced first samadhi back in 1993 and I have been entering laya and sabikalpa samadhi states (see below) at will since around 2007. It is like bliss on demand, nothing ever touches you, for you are one with the One, a mere witness, completely free...and alone.

Anyway, some of the levels of samadhi I would like to describe are:

  • Laya samadhi
    It can be had during walking, dancing, making love, running. It is an entry point, as it were, for the truly spiritual or transpersonal stages of consciousness.
    Effort is needed for attainment of this level of samadhi.

  • Sabikalpa samadhi
    It is a direct experience of the Absolute at the Subtle or Causal levels (Briah or Aziluth). It is an experience limited by time. I like to refer to this level of samadhi as Saguna samadhi (samadhi with form. Form in this context translates to transpersonal forms of God/Goddesses, of course). At this level, the so called Bhava (rapture) samadhi may be experienced as well.

    Effort is still needed for attainment of this level of samadhi, even if only a little shift in attention is employed.

    As I shared above, I used to enter Sabikalpa samadhi for years, at will, anytime, anywhere.

    "In sabikalpa samadhi the devotee has spiritually progressed to a state of inward divine union, but cannot maintain his cosmic consciousness except in the immobile trance-state. By continuous meditation, he reaches the superior state of nirbikalpa samadhi, where he moves freely in the world and performs his outward duties without any loss of God-realization.”
    - Paramhansa Yogananda

  • Kevala Nirbikalpa Samadhi 
This is a direct experience of the Causal level (Aziluth), and is on the other side of the Abyss. It is the so called Nirguna samadhi, a formless Oneness with the Absolute. 

In this experience, all movement in awareness ceases, and all that is left is only the Absolute Self. And it is or was one of the most important experiences of my life. 

Such an experience eradicates the apparent and illusory separateness of the Soul and Godhead, Creator and Creation, Nirvana and Samsara, Unmanifested and Manifested, Yogamaya and Mahamaya, Khabs and Khu - Absolute and "relative" merge into One, forever.

Grace is needed for attainment of this level of samadhi, and after the attainment has occurred, no effort in needed anymore, ever. This is attainment of Binah, or complete and permanent identification with and surrender to, the One Goddess or God (moving on to Chokmah) and beyond them both.

It is efortless and silent awareness, present even now.

  • Sahaja Nirbikalpa Samadhi
    This is the final stage, the ultimate experience that equals to Great Liberation, moksha, the end of the Great Work, and is in fact the attainment of Kether as per Qabalah.

    Sri Ramana Maharshi;

    “In yoga the term samādhi refers to some kind of trance and there are various kinds of samādhi. But the samādhi I speak of is different. It is sahaja samādhi. From here you have samadhana [steadiness] and you remain calm and composed even while you are active. You realize that you are moved by the deeper real Self within. You have no worries, no anxieties, no cares, for you come to realize that there is nothing belonging to you. You know that everything is done by something with which you are in conscious union.”

  • Anatta and Sunyata insights
    After attainment of the "I am" presence, the Causal self, the Absolute Self, or the Kether as per Qabalah, there are still possible realizations to be had.

    We must leave the Vedanta teachings behind, however, and embark upon the Buddhist teachings on anatta and sunyata. These experiences are way beyond even the Causal self or the Kether as per Qabalah. And they are liberating as hell.

    I will write more about anatta and sunyata, total identity collapse and about nirodha-samapatti as well, in the next blog in the After Abyss series.

  • Love is the law, love under will.

    See the next blog post: After Abyss II.: Changless Reality >>

    See the next blog post in the After Abyss series: After Abyss (III.): total identity collapse >>

    No comments:

    Post a Comment

    Your comments are visible to the public.
    If approved, your thoughts will appear ASAP.
    93 93/93